Carnival Cruise Line 2021& 2022 Member Review Highlights

Carnival is back cruising once again! - Photo by Carnival Cruise Line

Carnival Cruise Line is cruising again from the United States! The first ship back at sea for the line was Carnival Horizon, which resumed Caribbean cruises from PortMiami on July 3, 2021. Carnival has since restarted sailing a number of ships from various ports across the country.  

When it comes to cruising, one of the most common questions on everyone’s mind right now is what is it like to sail right now? To help answer this question and provide you with some insight on what the ‘new world’ of cruising looks like, Cruiseline.com rounded up some of our top tips from members who have sailed with Carnival since the line’s restart. Reviews are divided into the ships that have resumed cruising, so you can better have an understanding of what you can expect for embarkation, new health protocols, and what you can expect onboard. 

Check back often - we will make updates as more ships come back into service! 

Carnival Horizon - Resumed Cruising on July 4, 2021

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.4 Stars

The ship is great. So nice to be cruising again. The Horizon was kept very clean. The staff is great so friendly. - Carnivallover1 on Overall Experience

All common areas were always being cleaned, rails disinfected often. Elevators were also wiped down often. - redhead56 on Ship Quality 

Getting through the checkpoints was fast and easy. The waiting area was comfortable for us to wait until our boarding zone was called. From arrival to on ship within 30 minutes. - tom1156 on Embarkation

Read more Carnival Horizon Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Horizon

Carnival Vista - Resumed Cruising on July 3, 2021  

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.3 out of 5 Stars 

Every crew member we came in contact with was so friendly and kind. I always think the staff is lovely, but this time was better, I feel like after being off from COVID, everyone was happy to be working and guests were happy to cruise. - Jhendee826 on Service 

It was so great to get back to cruising. Wasn’t sure what to expect with all the COVID protocol, but it wasn’t too far off from being normal. Carnival did a great job with cleaning and monitoring that passengers were adhering to the masking protocol. - Pheznt55 on Overall Experience

The food was great, love having options. We spent most breakfasts and dinners in the dining room. Lunchtime was usually a buffet, pizza, or Italian restaurant. - jessfarmer on Dining

Read more Carnival Vista Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Vista

Carnival Breeze - Resumed Cruising on July 15, 2021  

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.9 out of 5 Stars

Fewer passengers made for a nicer cruise. Since the ship is NOT at full capacity it becomes more convenient getting around the ship. Seats are available just about everywhere along with getting an elevator. - williamcorneliu on Overall Experience 

It was fast and easy. It helps if you have your paperwork. We had our boarding pass, proof of citizenship, shot record (COVID-19 vaccine), and antigen test. - DelMarOdyssey on Embarkation

There were literally staff everywhere sanitizing and cleaning everything. - clarisafelix83 on Ship Quality 

Read more Carnival Breeze Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Breeze

Carnival Miracle - Resumed Cruising on July 27, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 3.9 out of 5 Stars

Well maintained, super clean, 10 out of 10 for cleanliness. Amazing staff doing a wonderful job. - rpshah1954 on Ship Quality 

The ship is older, but the crew is one of the best we had in 40 years of cruising! - randymoto on Overall Experience

A lot more organized than an airport. - sonikaur92 on Embarkation

Read more Carnival Miracle Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Miracle

Mardi Gras - Inaugural Cruise Held July 31, 2021  

Average New Ship Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.5 out of 5 Stars

The ship was really beautiful and clean. - GroovieJulie95 on Ship Quality

10 minutes from dropping our luggage off with the porter to being on the ship. - angiet75 on Embarkation

Huge ship, so be prepared to walk and have the best time. Lots to do and such good food. - justshayne on Overall Experience

Read more Mardi Gras Reviews

See All Cruises on Mardi Gras

Carnival Magic - Resumed Cruising on August 7, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.1 out of 5 Stars

Not for those who do not have a smartphone. Carnival has done away with all printed materials. - jhdscot6 on Overall Experience

Public Spaces and Entertainment areas are all clean and nice. Well designed. - ukoldav on Ship Quality

The size was ideal for two people and after having a balcony room, I can't imagine not getting one. The cleanliness was ideal, our steward was very polite and daily would ask what time we preferred to have our room taken care of. - ClaudiaNewbie on Cabins 

Read more Carnival Magic Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Magic

Carnival Sunrise - Resumed Cruising on August 14, 2021

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.2 out of 5 Stars 

This was our first cruise back since the pandemic. It was a very painless experience and we were not bothered by the mask-wearing in certain like we thought we would be. - kmsed on Overall Experience

I think we liked Guy's Burgers and the Pulled Pork Barbecue station the best. The taco bar was also good. We tried the dining room twice but preferred the more casual atmosphere of the Lido deck restaurants. - ljswartout on Food and Dining

Cruising COVID-style. I didn't know what to expect but the ship's crew was amazing and the staff really did a great job making sure everyone was masked in areas of closed proximity and were following the rules. I felt more safe here than I actually do some days at home. Camp Ocean was closed for children under 12 so we had to find more things for our daughter to do and cut out most adult-only events. The staff was phenomenal with cleanliness. - maureenanderson on Overall Experience

Read more Carnival Sunrise Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Sunrise

Carnival Panorama - Resumed Cruising on August 21, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.4 Stars out of 5 

Download their app before leaving home! Loved having everything on my phone. - Ship Tip from plev605472

The capacity of the ship was only about 50% so the lounge chairs were plentiful. There was a great variety of trivia available on both sea and port days. - dcrossen on Onboard Activities 

Beautiful ship, high tech, great layout, very clean! - yarbroughcindy on Ship Quality 

Read more Carnival Panorama Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Panorama

Carnival Glory - Resumed Cruising on September 5, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 3.8 out of 5 Stars  

It was great not having large crowds. Easy to find a place to sit and eat. Super good time. - coach519 on Overall Experience

We choose to have our luggage at the designated area and it only took a few minutes to go from the ship to finish with customs. - curtwheat72 on Disembarkation

We enjoyed all the activities on the ship that we did. We used the Pools, water slides, and adult-only areas. - kndhovore on Onboard Experience

Read more Carnival Glory Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Glory

Carnival Pride - Resumed Cruising on September 12, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.0 out of 5 Stars 

They were always cleaning, windows, balconies, everything. The Pride is our favorite ship in the fleet. It is not too big and provides a family feel. - rayclore on Ship Quality

Loved the ease (and less crowded) disembarkation as Platinum guests. - Nittany10 on Disembarkation

Great staff and I felt very safe with Carnival’s COVID requirements. Since we were on an extended cruise (14 days) we pretty much had masks on all the time unless outside or eating and drinking. - Joints13 on Overall Experience

Read more Carnival Pride Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Pride

Carnival Dream - Resumed Cruising on September 19, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.1 out of 5 Stars 

Pools were not too crowded, hot tubs were not crowded, and getting into the Piano Bar and Comedy Club were not issues. - rbain on Onboard Activities

Food and service were top-notch! - Imjustagirl on Ship Quality

Quick and easy. We waited in our Deck 1 stateroom until called, and walked right off the ship, and right through the facial recognition passport kiosks. Easy. - busterandcin on Disembarkation

Read more Carnival Dream Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Dream 

Carnival Freedom - Resumed Cruising on October 9, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.0 out of 5 Stars 

Everyone was WONDERFUL. Very friendly and helpful. - Jjlarocca13 on Service and Staff

We saw folks constantly cleaning the ship and everything seemed clean and well maintained. - JenCon16 on Ship Quality 

Because the cruise was only half-filled, there was no waiting at any time. It was a very smooth and wonderful experience - a great way to begin cruising again! - cnewman1 on Overall Experience

Read more Carnival Freedom Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Freedom

Carnival Elation - Resumed Cruising on October 11, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 3.9 out of 5 Stars

Great family cruise. The service was top-notch. Older ship but great renovations. Lots of storage space and USB ports. - PCBCruisers on Overall Experience

It’s a nice cruise ship. Smaller than others, but good for a family getaway. - kellzgotitmade on Ship Quality 

Very chaotic. Getting to the elevators was like a rock concert. - kellzgotitmade on Disembarkation 

Read more Carnival Elation Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Elation

Carnival Valor - Resumed Cruising on November 11, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.0 out of 5 Stars

If you're an early riser, breakfast doesn't start until 730am except for fruit and cereal. The coffee shop didn't open until 8 am, but coffee is available in the buffet. - Ship Tip from robin3148

Always something to do, there was never a moment when any of my family was bored. From the three pools to the three-story Twister Waterslide to all the Trivia and interactive shows, it was very enjoyable and FUN. - CruiseFamilyC2 on Onboard Activities 

The first cruise since COVID, staff was very helpful and have masks for you to wear inside. Everyone seemed very happy to be back cruising. Nice to be around people who were happy to be on vacation. - lucindaandcarl on Overall Experience

Read more Carnival Valor Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Valor

Carnival Legend - Resumed Cruising on November 14, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 3.8 out of 5 Stars 

Really great first COVID-era cruise. A smaller ship with fewer passengers removed some of the angst. Carnival's commitment to cleaning/sanitizing was very welcome. - pjf09 on Overall Experience

The service staff, as always on a ship, were professional, welcoming and always eager to help. - bateswand on Service 

Getting off the ship was seamless. They did a very nice job. - julsie on Disembarkation 

Read more Carnival Legend Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Legend

Carnival Pride - Resumed Cruising on November 14, 2021 

Average Return to Cruising Ranking (As of December 2021): 4.0 out of 5 Stars 

They were always cleaning, windows, balconies, everything. The Pride is our favorite ship in the fleet. It is not too big and provides a family feel. - rayclore on Ship Quality 

It was a very smooth embarkation process, especially given the COVID protocols. We were on the ship and in our cabin within an hour of our arrival. - Jheretired on Embarkation

Drink tables were being thoroughly wiped down after every performance. Food service areas stayed clear of dirty plates, cups, & utensils. I hope this doesn't change after covid. Loved the ship design and the fact that there were only 1900 guests onboard. A short walk from the front to the back of the ship. - Jcb23423 on Ship Quality

Read more Carnival Pride Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Pride 

Carnival Radiance - Resumed Cruising on December 13, 2021

No reviews for 2021 sailings as yet. If you’ve sailed on the Carnival Radiance, please write a review!

Read Past Carnival Radiance Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Radiance

Carnival Conquest - Resumed Cruising on December 13, 2021

No reviews for 2021 sailings as yet. If you’ve sailed on the Carnival Conquest, please write a review!

Read Past Carnival Conquest Reviews

See All Cruises on Carnival Conquest

Related Articles:

Explore All Return to Cruising Ship Guides

Have you cruised with Carnival Cruise Line? Write a review of your trip.

Booked on a Carnival sailing? Join a roll call.

Find Your Dream Vacation with Carnival Cruise Line

Join the discussion

Do you have a Carnival cruise planed for 2021 or 2022?

Post A Comment

Post a comment

Loading...