MSC Splendida Reviews

25 reviews




3 out of 5

Week on the Splendidia by bikefox

Verified Review
/
Sail Date: / Traveled As: Family (older children)

Nice ship and itinerary, too crowded at times. We liked to food, but the selections didn't change much. Enjoyed the entertainment, but most of it was difficult to understand since it was in Italian. Prices for drinks and excursions were reasonable. Overall, it was just too crowed to enjoy most of the time.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 2
2 out of 5

Splendida 7 Night Mediterranean Rome by NancyRucker

Verified Review
/
Sail Date: / Traveled As: Family (older children)

My favorite part of the cruise was Palma De Mallodrca.  I thought that the majority of the cruise help were awesome.  I thought that the Customer Service Representatives were awful and not helpful at all in fact I found them to be hostile.  I have been on several cruises and yours was the first one where I was denied juice and beverages and made to pay for them.  Over all I would not recommend this particular cruise to anyone and I don't think that I will cruise on MSC ever again. We were charged for TV service that we never received and were initially told that the charge would be taken off our account but it wasn't.  The culture of some of the clients was one of hostility and aggression.  I deal with aggression everyday at work.  I go on a cruise to get away from that.  I felt that I had to put on my "game face" in order to eat, participate in excursions or to disembark the boat.  Your company should put something in place to combat this type of culture.  You should set the example of care and concern for your customers.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 3
2 out of 5

Beware of the constant upsells and of the food by tvandmovieactor

Verified Review
/
Sail Date: / Traveled As: Large Group

Let me first single out our Cabin Steward (Derma) and the Asst Maitre'd (Antonio).  They both went above and beyond what was expected and MSC is fortunate to have them in their employ.

 

The best part of the cruise was visiting Malta, the Flamenco Dance show and the finale Italian Music show.  Other than that it was ordinary and boring.  The constant pressure to sell you a "drink package" (everything from hard liquor to what they a "coffee cuddle") at every single port was annoying and intrusive.  In other words, if you did not want to drink filtered water in the buffet, make your own tea or try to stomach their horrible self serve coffee, it was going to cost you money.

 

In addition to the pressure to sell you a drink package, there was constant pressure throughout every public area of the ship to sell you a photo package (at lest 5-times what each picture is worth but they will give you a discount "buy 1 and get 1 free" - so you will only pay 2-1/2 times its value).

 

The buffet was the same almost every day (except for the "feature meat of the day at dinner").  The formal restaurant had a better selection but with extremely small potions.  And we are a part of 8 adults and 1 baby, all but 2 of us got sick from the food (bad enough to have to stay in the cabin almost a full day - lucky for me it was the day completely at sea so I did not miss anything, not so lucky for my step-daughter and her husband missing the bicycle tour of Genova).

 

I have traveled on other cruise lines and never was there this much pressure to upsell, or just being cheap (not even ice tea or lemonade in the buffet without a charge per serving or refill).

 

One more point I need to bring up, I have a disability (spinal problems).  As such I cannot stand for very long in a line.  Getting back on the ship in Barcelona, I showed my government issued photo disability ID card to the first "security guard" just before he directed you to the lines for the metal detector and xray scanners.  I told him I had a disability and asked to use the handicap entrance.  His response "no way - impossible."  After standing in the very long line, clearing the scans and having to rest 2 hours in my cabin, I went to Guest Services to file a complaint.  As of this writing 1-week later, I have still not had a response from MSC regarding the incident.

 

Highly doubtful I will ever cruise with MSC again anywhere in the world.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 19
3 out of 5

Not as I expectedh by Cruiser21568328

Verified Review
/
Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple

You know when you plan things, but somehow nothing turns out right?  From the off I mis-read because I saw 2 dates for for Amsterdam I thought, oh good 2 days there (lots I wanted to see) - of course that was my mistake not MSC's.  It was nearly lunchtime before got off the ship and we sailed first thing the following morning.  Everything seemed to be against us, arriving in Hamburg late because no berth (we had to sail past and turnaround) - they also docked furthest away as they could (usually so close you can walk it the city), there was no shuttles available until the afternoon and so just couldn't be bothered in the end, shuttle very expensive to get into Bruges and only Le Havre proved to be a cheap shuttle and a more interesting place than I thought it would be.  Everything seemed geared to ship's organised excursions and thwarted if you wanted to do your own thing.  Well that is what it felt like.  Onboard there was poor organisation of the very poor selection of things to do e.g. Shuffleboard on at one time, darts half an hour later etc.  So there was no time to get from one to the other.  Food and cabin OK.  Am sorry you asked me about this trip because I regard it as my worse cruise.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 19
2 out of 5

would not use this line again by GraysonW

Verified Review
/
Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple
physically the ship is ok, because of its size it is iherently difficult to move around in. Lift lines back up for hour or so at a time, service by cabin, excursion, and bufett personnel was not very good. the additional charges for everything added up very quickly. filed lots of comments with the line

Read more

Was this review helpful? 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Cruise! Worth the price! by GlennB2

Verified Review
/
Sail Date: / Traveled As: Family (young children)
Overall the ship was great!! It's a beautiful ship and I can't say enough about it. This was our first cruise for my wife myself and our 11 year old. All the ports were excellent! Wish we had more time in each port. The food, entertainment,staff ,ports,condition of ship were excellent! I highly recommend this cruise.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 1
3 out of 5

Just got back from our... by Kimellis

Sail Date: /
Just got back from our western med cruise and I have to say MSC standards have slipped somewhat. We have cruised with MSC twice before and never had a problem with anything. The ship needs a refit as furniture is not always as clean as it should be. The tablecloths in main dining room have lots of loose threads which are easy things to remedy. We had a balcony room on 11th deck which was absolutely fine, and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. There are definitely less staff than last year so service in bars was slow. The ship is beautiful in design so it's a shame that we found things a little under par. On our first couple of days we couldn't find anything on the menu that was to our liking and there were 4 of us, although as the week went on things improved. Come on MSC we have always blown your trumpet and feel a little let down.

Read more

Was this review helpful?
5 out of 5

Msc splendida by ALE9416

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple

Tutto semplicemente fantastico!nave Splendida ,di nome e di fatto. Cibo ottimo a buffet !forse (in quanto non mi piace il pesce)preferivo più varietà di pasta come pasta e panna senza pesce.. cannelloni anche a buffet.. ma ho amato la pizza e gli hamburger! Personale sempre sorridente e disponibile!camera sempre pulita ! Piscine e idromassaggi situati in giuste posizioni!Msc è il top!!ho fatto una crociera lo scorso anno con Costa diadema ,ma devo dire che Msc è stata di gran lunga migliore!mi avete lasciato dei ricordi meravigliosi! Indelebili nel cuore! Putroppo una sola lamentela :il ragazzo italiano all area foto, biondo con la barbetta bionda.. è scorbutico e antipatico!avevo acquistato da casa il pacchetto 100 foto .. al giorno prima dello sbarco avevo fatto 80 foto e per arrivare a 100 volevo foto della nave da portare  a casa come ricordo!e mi ha risposto malissimo dicendomi che tanto mi avevamo già regalato troppe foto! Tutto il Personale della nave è stato gentile,sempre sorridente! Anche i cabininisti che non pylivano la mia cabina sempre sorridenti ! Ridevano con me e il mio ragazzo quando giocavamo per i ponti! Maitre disponibilissimo alla richiestrichiesta di cambiare il tavolo ! Ma il signore all area foto è stato l'unico antipatico! !Angry grazie msc per questa vacanza.. di sicuro ci sarà una prossima ! Ho già visto l'itinerario della seaside Love

Read more

Was this review helpful? 1
5 out of 5

terrific by jkeets

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple

Best part was the ship itself.  The entire facility as massive, very clean and inclusive of any need.  The itinerary was terrific.  Many unique destinations with plenty to do.  Great idea to have a "at sea" day in the middle of the cruise and the rest and pool time was appreciated.  Thought some of the excursions were expensive and did not expect transfer costs to get to the cities themselves.  Would not hesitate to recommend this cruise and/or this cruise line, MSC, to anyone.  John

Read more

Was this review helpful? 4
4 out of 5

Leuke cruise. Het schip is... by TonnyB

Sail Date: /
Leuke cruise. Het schip is heel mooi. De eerste indruk trekt zich door in het interieur. Bediening en personeel krijgt 5 sterren. Het pushen om een drankenpakket te kopen al van de eerste stap aan boord is een afknapper. Aan MSC, zet die prijs wat omhoog en geef die dranken erbij. Op het eten niets aan te merken. 3 kilo extra op een week. Prijzen van de drank vallen goed mee zonder drankenpakket! Rond de drie euro voor frisdrank, ongeveer 4,5 euro voor een grote pint bier en cocktails beginnen vanaf 6 euro. Alle personeel spreekt meerdere talen. Nederlands niet! Kamers en bedden werden smorgens en savonds verzorgd. Handdoeken worden constant gewisseld.

Read more

Was this review helpful?
4 out of 5

The overall ship is beautiful.... by tinabridget

Sail Date: /
The overall ship is beautiful. The staff was very nice, professional and the accommodations were given/ understood. Our room attendant Juro, was Absolutely Amazing! The reservations clerks were helpful, understanding and kind. Unfortunately, we had a lot of mishaps. (Our package was supposed to have drink passes for each of us). Although! We paid for them. They weren't added by our agent. It would have been an additional 176.00€ per person. Just remember to research your ship and make sure you understand that "rules are rules".... Our travel agent fell us in the worst way. However, we did not find fault with MSC! ONLY WITH OUR AGENT @ CRUISES.COM Juniata!!! Is hands down the worst travel agent EVER!!! Please do your research! And travel with people you like.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 1
2 out of 5

Disapointing by bbh

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple

While the ports we visited were all exceptional, warm friendly people and amazing things to see, please note this is a review of MSC only. 

Our room was always clean and the gentleman that was in charge of our balcony room was excellent. Our dining room staff were always kind, friendly and helpful. the food was very good. With that being said, i was very disappointed with the cruise overall. About 2/3 of the remaining staff were rude and snobbish and pretentious. We attempted to add an excursion while on the ship. There was some confusion and we were signed up for the wrong one. they were less than apologetic. Blamed us for not knowing what we were requesting. offered us a 10% discount on the excursion and sent some old fruit to our room. When we asked if we could speak to the manager, we were told "he will not want to speak to 'YOU'!" we opted to have pictures taken, and purchased the digital package so we would have them when we got home. It was blank!!! no memories and we paid for it. it has been a month of multiple calls to MSC (15 total) at first trying to get them.... because they had no sense of urgency the photos were deleted and we have yet to been offered any kind of refund, compensation, or apology. 

It is a cheap cruise that offers little in the area of extras and EVERYTHING on board is grossly overpriced. the salon, spa, drinks, souvenirs. 

please just be aware of what you are getting when booking. the experiences on shore really made up for it. Southern Europe is beautiful and friendly! 

Read more

Was this review helpful? 6
2 out of 5

Bad start because ofLanguage barrier and lack map to ship by Disappointeddou

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple

Kodos to Teria who was an excellent  help in booking the cruise and went the extra mile for us. She was a blessing!!  On board--Days one and two were exceptionally difficult as we didn't have a map of the ship and no one knew much English. We didn't have any help in finding our room and walked all the way on the wrong side because of the numerical system. Having a walker/wheelchair made it extra difficult to have to backtrack. Then when trying to find dining area, we only got half of the directions we needed, so up and down elevator....Finally someone handed us a map and things got better. Money spent for WIFI was wasted. Paid for a week and only got one message to family.  Seating for dinner with other English speaking couples was great and so were some of the stops. Especially enjoyed Southhampton and Amsterdam. Was shocked at how rude & greedy people were at buffet and on elevator. Tipping was excessive for the lack of staff help offered. State room was nice and kept clean. 

Read more

Was this review helpful? 1
4 out of 5

I liked the cruise on... by Thomas4

Sail Date: /
I liked the cruise on the Splendida. But I have to say the ship must have been totally booked out because it was very crowded at all times and almost everywhere. Maybe it seemed that crowded, because of the weather most people stayed inside and did not use the lido deck. Nevertheless it is a very beautiful ship and we liked the decor very much. The food was good. Not the best on our cruises before but not bad. Sadly the buffet was always crowded. Hard to find 2 seats even if your open minded and don't have a problem to share tables with other people. I don't know how a family of 4 could manage this when we as a couple where sometimes not able to find a seat. That's why we preferred using the dining rooms for all meals. Unfortunately a port was cancelled due to weather conditions. So we stayed in Rotterdam one day longer. Appreciated their offer to purchase a train ticket to the original port of call which was Amsterdam with no further costs. Additionally they allowed to use the purchased bus ticket for Rotterdam for 2 days instead of only 1 day. So that was quite nice. Our balcony was really nice on deck 13. It was located beneath the buffet restaurant. There was no noise from above, but therefore the balcony had a little roof. So it was nice because we could use the balcony even in rainy conditions. Pool decks are nice but not very crowded because of the cold weather (except indoor pool of course) I would choose the splendida again, depends on the itinerary.

Read more

Was this review helpful?
3 out of 5

Very very NICE by fsa23

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Family (older children)
everything in good order

Read more

Was this review helpful?
3 out of 5

Worst breakfast buffet ever by kleemd

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Couple
The ports of visit were beatiful. The stateroom is spacious and clean. We enjoyed evening show everynight and it was great. The staff were very good as usual. My dissatisfaction were two areas. 1, Breakfast buffet. It was terrible. I am a good eater and usually don't complain about food. But this was the worst buffet I ever had! Scrambled egg must had too much water added (?to save money). I had to eat with a spoon not a fork. Bacon was tasteless and no flavor. It was like chewing a card board. Sausage was too salty and tasteless. No smoked salmon could be seen anywhere(most cruise ships serve smoked salmon on breakfast). Overall impression is that it tried to serve cheap meals to make more money. 2.Selling bottled water in dining room. It was really stupid and annoying policy that guest should buy water bottle in dining room. It may be European custom, but it's really annoying policy for American traveler.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 4
4 out of 5

Travelled as a family of... by timcommons

Sail Date: /
Travelled as a family of 4, we had a great week onboard the splendida. The staff were very good, food was lovely in the main restaurant and facilities on board were good, although it was a bit cold in December to use the main pools. We did use the jacuzzis, a lot. Check times that services and activities are open, especially the 4d cinema, we never got to see it, as it wasn't open when we went.

Read more

Was this review helpful?
3 out of 5

A wonderful cruise to fantastic ports. by bookie23

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Singles/Friends
A very big ship and kept clean\, and there werre no problems. Would like lmore English spoken abouard by the crew if possible.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 2
5 out of 5

Great Ship and Very Satisified by GlennB2

Sail Date: / Traveled As: Family (young children)
I have been reading some other not so good reviews here and in my opinion my wife, son and I were all very happy with just about everything. We took this cruise in June 2010. The breakfast buffets were very nice, so much to chose from. Of course they had the same thing everyday, but you can choose something different everyday. All the food was hot. Lunch buffet was very good too. Our balcony room (12029) was very plush. Wife said sheets were the best she has felt, bed smelled clean. Bathroom was very nice and clean, room service was very good. Water did cost you extra, about $2.00 for a large bottle. We would buy water while at port and bring it back with us. They gave you 1 bottle of water included with every dinner. The entertainment at the theater was very very good and it got over at 10:30, not too late so we can get rest for the next day. All the ports were really great. I think some of these other reviews are too picky. We are planning to go again.

Read more

Was this review helpful? 8

*Cruiseline.com is not a booking agent or travel agency, and does not charge any service fees to users of our site. Our partners (travel agencies and cruise lines) provide prices, which we list for our users' convenience. Cruiseline.com does not guarantee any specific rates or prices. While prices are updated daily, please check with the booking site for the exact amount. Cruiseline.com is not responsible for content on external web sites.