lack of customer service & taking accountability

Although the ship was beautiful and amenities plentiful - the servicing of customers was for lack of better words not acceptable!

There was 1 bartender at the pool was by no means pleasant in fact he was nasty!

The person in charge of scheduling or assisting with excursions was by no means of any assistance - It was 10:05 when I approached the desk asking for information on an excursion and the person who was in charge of the area looked at me and said you are too late the department was closed. 

At dinner one of the 63 members of my family were told to leave the raw bar because he was not dressed appropriately yet we were in an open area with people walking around in shorts, tanks, tanks and bathing suits!

The Room was hot the a/c didn't work, fuses were being blown when the blow dryer was on  - the towels were not changed and the iron brought to me stained my shirts with rust!  The icing on the cake was my sons engagement was almost destroyed because of the staff decorating the room prior to the time they were supposed to and then when my son complained he was brushed off from one person to another and spent 3 day's attempting to speak with someone who was going to address this issue and was told to contact corporate when he arrived back in the states they weren't doing anything to compensate him for the cost of the package he bought to decorate the room and the stress their mistake caused him during what was supposed to be a special and wonderful event in his life. 

We traveled NCL because we thought the service would be as incredible as the ship looked and without doubt that was not the case!  When we traveled Carnival  Cruise 12 years ago there ship was not as grand but the service was impeccable on all levels!    I would love to discuss this further but I doubt this will happen since it seems employees of this cruise line do not take accountability for their actions!

Tags: reviews complaints lack of customer service

8 Answers

Well, I don't know which ship you were on, but we've been on Norwegian at least 10 times and never had the problems you say you had.  Never had a problem with room decorations, nor the cakes.

You state there were 63 people in your group.  I'm curious to know what their experiences were.  You also state you cruised with Carnival 12 years ago. Well, a lot has changed in the industry in 12 years.  Larger ships and less staffing is a common complaint.  I do however find it hard to believe no one at the courtesy desk would help you.  NCL has ALWAYS resolved our issues as soon as they could.  And always with a smile, and an apology.

Sorry you had such a bad experience.

Wow sorry to hear about your cruise.  They sound like they are competing with Carnival LOL

Please add more information. With that many people there must be various stories we should like to hear.

Hope you have a better cruise in the future.

 

Never had that low a level of service on Carnival. 

Neither have I.  It's always been stellar...   I was in the elevator one time and a low level deck washer was with me... He said to me.. Good afternoon sir.. How is your cruise?  I was surprised.

Sorry you had a few disappointments on your cruise. We have only sailed with Carnival, and had wonderful customer service from all areas of the ship. We've never encountered even a disgruntled crew or staff member. Perhaps try Carnival next time - the ships are great and so is the service. 

Some cruises just seem cursed. We did have a cruise like that on Carnival, but fortunately we knew it was a "one off" sort of thing, since it was after many other Carnival cruises.  I am sorry you had so many problems.  as BAK mentioned, a lot has changed in the industry in the last 12 years, with staff cutbacks and rude customers (yes, the passengers can and do change the attitude of the customer service desk).  Passengers often ignore the "rules" so when you happen on the shore excursion desk 5 min. after is was supposed to close, you have no idea what occurred before you got there. I hope this hasn't stopped you from cruising, you just need to find your "nitch".

Sorry your cruise was not up to your expectations.

Reply

*Cruiseline.com is not a booking agent or travel agency, and does not charge any service fees to users of our site. Our partners (travel agencies and cruise lines) provide prices, which we list for our users' convenience. Cruiseline.com does not guarantee any specific rates or prices. While prices are updated daily, please check with the booking site for the exact amount. Cruiseline.com is not responsible for content on external web sites.

Back to Top