Review by stugrant12

beautiful ship and great food, but very rude crew members

In response to review, CrusinTim says ...

Good review Stu! I agree, we always book mid-ship in all aspects. I think the reason the higher priced suites are in the less than desirable locations is the view from the balcony. Only problem with that is when your at sea, the view is pretty much the same for everyone!!! Bon Voyage.....

Tags: Norwegian Cruise Line Norwegian Star Transatlantic

5 Answers

Thanks for the review. Sounds like a challenging cruise but you were able to look past those issues and have a good time.

Very disappointing to read that you had issues with NCL crew members. Without trying to extol the virtues of NCL, I am surprised. Every member of the crew that I have encountered on the Pearl and the Jade have been excellent, especially the room stewards who we have always tipped specifically at the end of the cruise, thanking them for their outstanding work. Just as a matter of interest, did you bring this problem to customer services?

How unfortunate that you ran into Jaoquin. I don't understand how the crew didn't handle the issue of moving everyone to a good quality hotel, refunding your money for the lost day, giving you the $100 food voucher and 15 % off your next cruise. I suppose when something has to be done quickly like moving a whole ship load of passengers at one time unexpectedly, things do not go smoothly. Of cause I wasn't there for the confusion. At least you did enjoy the cruise despite this event and some major rudeness on the ship. I sincerely hope that your next cruise with NCL goes more smoothly. Please be sure to write another review.

Glad your cruise went well over all. Sorry for the rude people you ran into in the gift shop and the bar. It is interesting that the people were rude to you when everything was going as planned. I would have thought the crew would have been more stressed when having to move everybody to the hotel and they were under stress of the change in plans.

I have found RCI to be a step above NCL in food and service. I have even found Carnival to have better service and crew then NCL. It does sound like NCL handled the situation well with the food credit, hotel and discount on future cruise. Best wishes that your next cruise goes smooth.

take a minute why did they put everyone into a hotel, passengers were not meant to leave the ship until the next day why not keep them on board?

i was doing the back to back cruise and i was 2 of 100 passengers who did stay on board,

Could it be due to the ship inspections which took place on the day the ship was in port with no passengers all crew staff spent the 24 hours cleaning the ship non stop for the inspections and for the passengers who had to stay on board we had 36 hours of nothing no pool no entertainment, bars closed and the food on offer was untouchable what a holiday

Also the a lot of passengers who were transported to the hotel after spending hours getting off ship then had to spend hours to find out they were not on the list for a hotel room, taken to another hotel and guess what no rooms for them there either. People spend nearly a full day in ques.

* is not a booking agent or travel agency, and does not charge any service fees to users of our site. Our partners (travel agencies and cruise lines) provide prices, which we list for our users' convenience. does not guarantee any specific rates or prices. While prices are updated daily, please check with the booking site for the exact amount. is not responsible for content on external web sites.