Review by hharris6

Belize Blunder

In response to review, sugie says ...

I was on this cruise and the tenders were having trouble hooking up to the ship. Getting cruisers off and on took longer and the water was rough . A lot of Carnival guests  got their money back no questions asked because of the rough water.


Tags: Carnival Cruise Lines Caribbean - Western Carnival Valor

7 Answers

Experiences from my own cruising and the information from a very talented Travel Agent has taught me to book through the cruise line. YES, I know it cost a bit more, however, for the extra assurance that a busload of sightseeing cruise passengers will not be left looking at the south end of a northbound ship, for me warrants the expense.

As for Tenders, I have been on one that took an extra hour and a half to unload as the seas did not cooperate. With the exception of one person, who fell hard during the crossing due to really rough seas, the rest of us had a blast, the cruise line bought us all drinks when we finally got on board. The elderly passenger who fell suffered a broken hip and was sent ashore to be sent home ( at the cruiselines expense) the next morning. at a docked port.

I hate to read about events like this.  I almost always book shore excursions through the cruise line unless I have previously been to the island.  I agree that it is for peace of mind.  I know that it costs more money.  

I usually don't mind tendering in.  But a few times we were stuck in a tender for a very long time waiting for more passengers.  The ocean was rough each time and we bounced up and down.  Of course there was no A/C and inside the tender it was so hot and uncomfortable.  It wasn't until one passenger said she was feeling faint, another time three passengers tried to get off the tender and once someone fell down that the tender finally left.


My complaint was not with circumstances beyond the control of Carnival, (tenders, choppy water, weather). My complaint was that we paid for two premium rooms, but had to wait until after all of Carnivals excursion passengers went ashore first. Passengers that were going ashore not for an excursion but only to sight see also had to wait. Had I known in advance, we would have booked our excursion through Carnival. It would have justified the extra expense. Kind of like paying for a fast-pass at Disney World. By the time we found out, all of their excursions were booked.

First off in ports is always people that book excursions through the cruise line.  Booking through the ship has a few benefits,  first off the ship, the ship will not leave you at the port if the excursion is late getting back and the cruise line has vetted the vendor for quality, safety and reliability.

I only do non-ship excursions when I know the port and have been there a time or two. 

Thank you for posting your review.
We almost always book excursions through the ship for a multitude of reasons, not the least of which is if the tour runs late the ship will wait.  The cruise line negotiates with on shore vendors including guarantees regarding dock time and when passengers will be available to start their tours. I don't understand how you were discriminated against in light of the fact that you did not book your tours through the ship. They have no agreement with an outside vendor to get guests on their way.
Aside from that, sounds like you had a swell time.




* is not a booking agent or travel agency, and does not charge any service fees to users of our site. Our partners (travel agencies and cruise lines) provide prices, which we list for our users' convenience. does not guarantee any specific rates or prices. While prices are updated daily, please check with the booking site for the exact amount. is not responsible for content on external web sites.

Back to Top